Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



ARGraph datalogging add on - Open Source

DanEdwards

New member
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
43
Points
0
Could you PM me details on how much it would cost for only the attachment and shipping to Finland would cost?

Dan
 

Blord

New member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
5,368
Points
0
@Pman
Blord was using 6V (four AA's) and the Arduino wouldn't run on that voltage in, so I told him to snip the Vin pin which makes it so the 6V wont go to the Arduino.
This way the 6V would any be powering the analog to digital converter, the Arduino would only be powered when it's connected to USB.
It's only necessary if using a 5.2V-6.5V source.

Thanks for the donation :)
That is the way I did it. I didn't want to create an imbalance between the two 9V block battery.
First I was very hesitate to cut the Vin pin of the add-on but I did it. The LPM turns out very fine. I have added another ground lead to the 6V pack to make the circuit close. If you look closely at the add-on datalogger you see two black wires coming from the ground.
 
Last edited:

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Could you PM me details on how much it would cost for only the attachment and shipping to Finland would cost?

Dan
Hey Dan,

The for sale thread is here:
http://laserpointerforums.com/f39/fs-argraph-lpm-data-logging-add-80227.html

It will cost you 45$ + 8$ shipping to buy one.

You can also build your own if you want:
https://sites.google.com/site/arglaserpowermeter/argraph-bom

Send me a private message if you're interested in buying one from me and I'll send you my PayPal address.
 

Pman

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
4,450
Points
113
He is powering the same way I am (would be more correct to say I am powering mine the way he is). Got the idea from him on the (4) aa eneloops to get 5V to the displays.
I'm assuming that he only has the board without display.
Just trying to clarify. Can you power the unit and its display seperately from say a couple of 10440s or 16340s, not use the Ophir 5V output and just feed the signal to it so everything is seperate?
Will the display light up without being connected to USB?
Just trying to picture the options/posibilities. Looking for what combinations I could go with. Don't want feedback issues.
Feel like I may be asking a few dumb questions but I don't care:)
Might just be mounting it in its own box for now until I can look over my options/think about and see what others are doing. If it can do what I think it can then I can easily switch between my Ophir and TEC for signal feed. Options, options, options:D
Still like my red and or blue with DVM output boxes because of all the options they give. Haven't cleaned up wires yet as I'm keeping everything dynamic for now. Wouldn't be able to fit the Arg in that box (no room).

You posted while I was still composing Blord:)
Yeah, looks like you did exactly as Arg said to do. So, your datalogger is now only powered when plugged into USB. The way I'm thinking about doing it will (I believe) allow me to keep things the way they are with all my options but allow the Arg display to fire up without USB connection. Hoping I'm right but if not, oh well... The reality is that my Flukes can REL to 0 and read min/max but I would prefer not to have to use one when the display can do it for me.

By the way, what a brain fart. Have no answer for why I wasn't seeing Vin as Voltage in :oops:
Also, even though it is very unlikely that I would use the boards Ophir power option I really like that it's there. Did I just say option again:p

Blord, are you able to take such great closeup shots without having your camera mounted? If so, I hate you:p You know I'm kidding my friend:yh: Looks like you were able to fit everything in the same box you were using for the Ophir build.
If you don't mind me asking (and I realize it's kind of off-topic) but which one of the lasers in your sig is your favorite? Kind of wished I had gone with the 520nm in the GB. Wondering if you would say it is more or less visible than a 532 for the same exact power.
 
Last edited:

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Two Li-ions would work, but three with a 9V regulator would be better.
The display and back light will run when you give it voltage. The entire power meter can run off of USB (except for the Ophir versions that need 7-10V to generate the split rails). So what you describe above will work :)

P.S. the same powers of 532nm and 520nm, 532nm would be the brighter.
 

Pman

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
4,450
Points
113
In other words, although a single 9v would run it, parallel a couple of them and you're doing pretty good for the Ophir version. You wouldn't cut the Vin pin.
I've got a couple different 8 cell aa battery holders and could use 6 standard alkalines (about 9.9V) with a couple dummy cells. 8 eneloops would actually start out around 11v so 7 would put you in the range. Mostly comes down to what kind of run time you want, the project box size and how simple/complex you want to get for the desired options.
What is the runtime on a single 9V alkaline for the Ophir based unit? I may have missed the information for current draw.
Any projections on your runtime for your data logging setup Blord?
 

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Just make sure the voltage doesn't exceed 10V (if Ophir version) as that's the maximum the Ophir rail splitter can take :p

The current draw is about 20mA IIRC, for the data logging board and Arduino.
 

Seoul_lasers

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
2,496
Points
83
Just make sure the voltage doesn't exceed 10V (if Ophir version) as that's the maximum the Ophir rail splitter can take :p

The current draw is about 20mA IIRC, for the data logging board and Arduino.

Thanks for the info!! Good to know.. :beer:
 

Pman

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
4,450
Points
113
Posted a setup/info. for my data logger with comments if anyone is interested. Just click on the ARG datalogger bottom of my sig.

 
Last edited:

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Looking good Pman! Love the setup, as a separate unit from the LPM.

Going to have to look over your other thread later, on slow free wifi here at the moment :)
 




Top