Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Laser Pointer Store

ARGraph datalogging add on - Open Source

awillis2589

New member
Joined
Jun 21, 2012
Messages
2,022
Points
0
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Looking good blord! Looks like a lot of stuff to fit inside that box now. Maybe you could find a box or something small to put the addon in and the mount it on top of your current lpm. This is kinda why I'm thinking the other lpm setup from arg will be better because I'm already going to have to make a new inclosure either way.
 

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Any suggesting how to wire it better ? Maybe using the 6V 4x AA block for the Arduino instead of the 9V block.
The datalogging IC needs 5.2V to run, but the Arduino needs 7-12V (It can run off of 6V, but that's the bare limits)

What you could do is unsolder/snip the "Vin" pin going into the Arduino, hook up the red wire to the 6V from the AA's and the Arduino will run off of USB when it's connected. Probably a better option than using only one 9V as that will create unbalance in the cells which isn't good for the Ophir.
Just make sure the AA's don't drop below 5.2V and the readings will be fine :)

Edit: Also, make sure the Arduino doesn't short on the metal case :)
 
Last edited:

Blord

New member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
5,368
Points
0
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

The datalogging IC needs 5.2V to run, but the Arduino needs 7-12V (It can run off of 6V, but that's the bare limits)

What you could do is unsolder/snip the "Vin" pin going into the Arduino, hook up the red wire to the 6V from the AA's and the Arduino will run off of USB when it's connected. Probably a better option than using only one 9V as that will create unbalance in the cells which isn't good for the Ophir.
Just make sure the AA's don't drop below 5.2V and the readings will be fine :)

Edit: Also, make sure the Arduino doesn't short on the metal case :)
Let me get that straight. The red and black wires from the addon to the 6V block and the white wire to the Ophir head.

Then snip the Vin pin beneath the small board on the Arduino ?

I have primary Li cells but I don't have batterycasing for it. For now I stick with the four AA cells unless the space is restrained inside the LPM.
 

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Yup, that is correct, but the black wire will also have to be connected to the ground on the Ophir.
 

Blord

New member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
5,368
Points
0
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Yup, that is correct, but the black wire will also have to be connected to the ground on the Ophir.
You are sure that the ground on the Ophir head is the same ground as on the 6V block for the LCD panel ?
Because the 2x9V block and the 4xAA operate separately on different devices.

Jerry told the Ophir is quite sensitive and I don't want to blow it up by a voltage mismatch. :)
 

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

It shouldn't hurt to connect the grounds on the two systems, but measure the voltage before reconnecting the Ophir to be safe.
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,505
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

I got my Arduino data logging add-on from Arglaser. The driver for the new COM port came from here, Arduino - Software
I have hooked it on my existing Ophir and after installing the driver it works. :D
The red LED on the board lights on and starts to collect data from the sensor and sending it throught the USB cable. The Skylaser PL532-700 was the testlaser and here are the results.
I am very happy with this add-on. I am now figuring out how to fit the Arduino board in my LPM case. :beer:

Datalog with the Ophir LPM


Did the LED Display on your LPM bounce around as much as
the 1st graph data shows while you were logging that Laser...??

If it bounced around less or not as much.. the Graph could be
showing some added noise...
Your wiring does not seem to be electrically noise free nor
does it seem to use any kind of shielded cable.


Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
 
Last edited:

Trevor

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
4,513
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Did the LED Display on your LPM bounce around as much as
the 1st graph data shows while you were logging that Laser...??

If it bounced around less or not as much.. the Graph could be
showing some added noise...
Your wiring does not seem to be electrically noise free nor
does it seem to use any kind of shielded cable.


Jerry
It was a high powered green laser. Their power output tends to move around when measured on professional fast-responding thermopiles.

Also, those panel voltmeters have a much lower sample rate than an Arduino. Fast response time to a reading change should not be confused with noise.

Testing with a high power 445nm laser (which has a much more stable output than a high powered DPSS 532nm laser) could be used to see if there is any appreciable noise present in the system.

Trevor
 
Last edited:

Blord

New member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
5,368
Points
0
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Like Trevor said, the DPSS laser has the tendency of erratic output.
I took a red laser for another test to see if it is noise. Red lasers are very stable like other diodes laser. I don't think it is noise.
The sample rate is 5 per second. I don't know if it is a property of the software or the hardware.



Zoomed out area of the start. The output seems to hover between 255mW and 256mW.
 

offroadfreak8582

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
2,371
Points
83
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Hey guys! I also got the ARG board in :beer: it looks good thank you buddy! :)

But now for getting it to work :p i don't have laserbee interface or software. So what do need to install to get a good graph? I am a total noob with arduino's.

greetings,,

EDIT: meh cant get it to work :( i downloaded the arduino software then installed the drivers. Then Shot the openLPM software into it. But i cannot see a graphing tool or i am totally missing something :(
 
Last edited:
Reactions: ARG

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Did the LED Display on your LPM bounce around as much as
the 1st graph data shows while you were logging that Laser...??

If it bounced around less or not as much.. the Graph could be
showing some added noise...
Your wiring does not seem to be electrically noise free nor
does it seem to use any kind of shielded cable.
It is noise free, even without the filtering caps it was not an issue during my testing.
As Trevor said it's the response time of the Ophir that causes the graph to look like that, it shows the power instability better than a TEC LPM.

Hey guys! I also got the ARG board in :beer: it looks good thank you buddy! :)

But now for getting it to work :p i don't have laserbee interface or software. So what do need to install to get a good graph? I am a total noob with arduino's.

greetings,,

EDIT: meh cant get it to work :( i downloaded the arduino software then installed the drivers. Then Shot the openLPM software into it. But i cannot see a graphing tool or i am totally missing something :(
PM replied :)
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,505
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

@ Blord...

Looking at the Red Laser Graph I see that it is not noise
but the 532nm Laser's output.

@ ARGLaser
Hey guys! I also got the ARG board in it looks good thank you buddy!

But now for getting it to work i don't have laserbee interface or software. So what do need to install to get a good graph? I am a total noob with arduino's.

greetings,,

EDIT: meh cant get it to work i downloaded the arduino software then installed the drivers. Then Shot the openLPM software into it. But i cannot see a graphing tool or i am totally missing something
I would suggest that you answer his questions on the open
Forum rather than PM. Other members may be having the
same issues installing your Data Logging PCB.


Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
 
Last edited:

rbc1225

New member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
83
Points
0
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

@ Blord...

Looking at the Red Laser Graph I see that it is not noise
but the 532nm Laser's output.

@ ARGLaser


I would suggest that you answer his questions on the open
Forum rather than PM. Other members may be having the
same issues installing your Data Logging PCB.


Jerry
heheheh You sure seem concerned about how these fellas are doing things and trying to make sure their project is out in the open. Just sort of interesting coming from a guy that sells LPMs and not open source. Just sayin. :thinking:
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,505
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

heheheh You sure seem concerned about how these fellas are doing things and trying to make sure their project is out in the open. Just sort of interesting coming from a guy that sells LPMs and not open source. Just sayin. :thinking:
Since it is Open Source it makes no sense in leaving out
the other members that may have the same issues by
resolving offroadfreak8582's apparent problems behind
closed doors.

Either it is an Open Source project that is shared with
everyone or it is not...

Just saying......:beer:


Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
 

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
113
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

@ ARGLaser
I would suggest that you answer his questions on the open
Forum rather than PM. Other members may be having the
same issues installing your Data Logging PCB.
Well, he flashed OpenLPM onto it (even thought it had the correct firmware on it), which will not work without modifications so I had to give him the firmware over PM which is not yet ready to be released. (Needs formatting and commenting)
Plus the default datalogging software this uses is soon to change so my instructions would be irrelevant soon enough ;)

Since it is Open Source it makes no sense in leaving out
the other members that may have the same issues by
resolving offroadfreak8582's apparent problems behind
closed doors.

Either it is an Open Source project that is shared with
everyone or it is not...

Just saying......:beer:
It hasn't been released Open Source yet Jerry ;) When it's good and ready I will release it Open Source. Even then I have no obligation to help every person set it up in public forum because this is Open Source.

The only problem he had was that he re-flashed the firmware, I'm helping him set it up in PM. What's the big deal about that?
 
Last edited:

rbc1225

New member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
83
Points
0
Re: Add datalogging to any LPM

Since it is Open Source it makes no sense in leaving out
the other members that may have the same issues by
resolving offroadfreak8582's apparent problems behind
closed doors.

Either it is an Open Source project that is shared with
everyone or it is not...

Just saying......:beer:


Jerry
I thought open source meant it will be shared when the person is done and ready to share. They make their final project open for everyone to see and share the info so a person can either build upon it or use it as is. Not necessarly as they go through it and are fixing things as they go along. Otherwise it could be a huge mess as everybody trying to put input to the project. It's not like I see them asking for anyones help and then hiding the results. It's more they are building the project and willing to share once they are done. Two different scenarios in my opinion and that's all it is, my opinion which doesn't count for much. :)
 
Last edited:




Top