Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Which color of laser pen is better fo teaching, green or red?

Bowen

I'm a teacher, I want to buy a laser pen for teaching, which color is better for my class? green laser pen or red laser pen?

honestly red imo because they have seen it a 1,000 times and wont go al crazy when you whip out an exotic color laser.
But if you want to go for a shocking color get a 7 color kit and keep changing it and act like you have not noticed it doing it. would be kinda funny.

daguin

I switch up my colors for different lectures ;)

660nm
635nm
632nm
593nm
543nm
473nm
405nm

I also have a couple of "novelty" pointers I use

Peace,
dave

Some day you will have to show us all them lasers even the "novelty" ones ;)

660nm
635nm
632nm
593nm
543nm
473nm
405nm

Peace,
dave

I find that green is too bright for a classroom-sized setting, and stick to red (a 635nm in my case). If you're giving a presentation in a lecture hall, green can be appropriate for greater visibility. Violet can work as well, since it isn't distractingly bright and can attract attention, but avoid making it seem "gimmicky" and don't raise the power to unsafe levels in the name of visibility just because 405nm doesn't seem bright.

DJNY

660nm
635nm
632nm
593nm
543nm
473nm
405nm

Peace,
dave

Is there a deeper meaning why u use specific wl for specific courses?

I always use my Z-Bolt bicolor laser. The red one for smaller seminar rooms, the green one for the auditorium. It also depends on the powerpoint background color. Sometimes I use both in one presentation, not to cause confusion more than to illustrate good points(green) and bad points(red) due a topic.

Arayan