Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Radiant 4X LPM is not defective

paul1598419

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
15,887
Points
113
I received a new Radiant X4 LPM today and the meter's program has malware included in it. As soon as this meter arrived I stopped everything and began setting it up. I have Norton security by Symantec on my computer and it stopped the program in the meter from loading. At this point I tried measuring several lasers I have with known power levels and found that the meter's calibration was off. It would measure the peak level at 88% of the measured peak level with my LaserBee II 3.2 watt LPM. I got in touch with Norton and had a representative log on to my computer and help me in trying to load the Radiant meter's program and it turned out to be infected with malware called Trojan.Gen.2. As it turns out today I can say that my Radiant LPM and data logging are working perfectly. It was Norton who was wrong and by virtue of my belief in them, me too. I want to thank all the forum members who helped me through this problem, and especially Craig who went out of his way to resolve my issues. :eek: I have been able now since I got Norton to exclude my Radiant LPM and data logging to have it working fine 24 hours after the exclusion. That's the first time that has ever happened. All I can say is sorry fellow members. Paul
 
Last edited:



daguin

New member
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
16,576
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

<moved>

Peace,
dave
 

Livinloud

New member
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
5,029
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

TRUST ME, if Calvin and Craig built the software then its not meant to be bad. Iirc they bought the base software off someone (afaik it was Trevor?????) AND TREVOR is also a great guy so neither of them would intentionally add something to damage your computer.

Also, ever think that your LB was the meter that wasn't calibrated properly. LB bashes, I mean BASHES EVERY other LPM builders design and calibration. IMO he does it since he knows his product is lower quality and not calibrated properly. If he can get the forum to believe the other LPMs have faults then he can sell more of his. He posts in almost EVERY new member welcome thread, he pushes his products nonstop BUT when the Delta- Rubicon hit the market, LB disappeared. He knows the Delta is a superior product and ran. He hasnt shown his face here for a few months. No word to anyone, not a peep.

IMHO I think your LB is not calibrated right. Especially since I know, I KNOW FOR A FACT, that Craig and Calvin put a crap ton of money and time into developing this product and making sure it was perfect. Illumination Supply is literally one of the best, if not the best, place in the USA to buy light products, batteries, etc..... They care about both the flashlight hobby and laser hobby. Iirc, calvin does most of the flashlight stuff and Craig does the lasers so just contact them. They will fix it at all costs, they always do. Afaik you are the only one who has had a problem with their LPM.
 

DJNY

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
5,992
Points
83
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

I forwarded csshih and Trevor this thread. I´m sure they gonna solve the problem as soon as they have time to reply here.

Often Norton Virus or other virus programs are to blame for that they believe to recognize a virus / trojan in a file.


Edit: ARG beat me :)
 
Last edited:

Trevor

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
4,515
Points
113
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

The response time is most likely why your readings are "low."

Try this:

1) Run a 60s test on your X4. Record the power at the end of the test.

2) Run a 60s test on your LaserBee. Record the power at the end of the test.

You'll notice that they are rather close.

Why is this?

As your laser is on for longer, it heats up and the power drops as the environment in the laser equalizes. Your LaserBee is "seeing" the full power closer to the beginning of the test, before the laser has warmed. Early in the test, the X4's sensor is still equalizing, and it begins to "see" the power by the end of the test.

This concept was discussed in another thread in which a member thought his LaserBee was reading 10% low. I'd recommend reading this discussion:

http://laserpointerforums.com/f70/lpm-design-beginner-s-guide-84691.html#post1233069

For quick reference, here's a graph I generated illustrating the concept:



It should be noted that the X4 has a slower response time than the 2.5W LaserBee, so the effect will be more pronounced with the X4.

Does this help?

Trevor
 

Tmack

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
2,478
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

I was just about to say this ( maybe not so well :p) but the laserbee has half the response time of the radient. Radient is 0-95% in 30sec. Laserbee is 0-95% in 15sec.
This is surely whats causing the difference in readings.

Just reinforcing the information given above.
 

ARG

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,893
Points
113
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

^ Yeah the mid-range laserbee's (3.2W, 1W) respond a lot faster than the radiant x4 and the budget laserbee's (USB 2.5, 2.7)

What lasers did you test with? If you tested lasers with short duty cycles by the time the LPM response the power will have dropped.
 

Tmack

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
2,478
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

The laserbee originally came for herunotsurugi and was compared to his kenometer. He said the laserbee was right on point. Just an FYI.
 

Livinloud

New member
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
5,029
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

That kenometer was made years ago. Over time LPMs need to be recalibrated. afaik kenometers were made back i '09-'10 and they use ophir heads. Depending on if the ophir was new or not will also affect the calibration. Also how long and how much it was used after the unit was purchased will affect readings. 4 year old sensor could have HEAVY use and be way out of calibration so the two meters "matching" doesnt mean anything unless the kenometer was recalibrated by someone who can actually do it
 

Tmack

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
2,478
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

Disregard my post then. (As is the case for most of my posts :p)
 
Last edited:

Livinloud

New member
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
5,029
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

I wish kenom was still around, he made some sick host designs........kryton groove- kenom's baby, kenometer- kenom's baby, kryton smooth- kenom's baby
 

paul1598419

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
15,887
Points
113
Tmack, thanks for your confirmation of the LaserBee II. Even if this were an issue with thermopile size many of my lasers have duty cycles far beyond 60 seconds. Right now I am trying to find a way to debug the meter itself because my Norton won't allow my Radiant Light Speed data logging to recognize the meter at all. With so many people speculating on what "I" am doing wrong it is nice to have someone confirm something that you knew all along. Thanks buddy, Paul

Livinloud, well I guess I can't depend on the LaserBee, but my Norton security still won't allow my computer to recognize the meter. I spent an hour yesterday with a tech from Symantec trying to get the meter recognized and was told that there was a virus in the meter's program called Trojan.Gen.2. Still trying to get that resolved. If you can help me with that problem then Please help! Thanks, Paul
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DashApple

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
1,463
Points
83
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

If you want to just data log and test the LMP then download and try Peregrine 1.5 , I use it with my X4 and have no issues at all .
 
  • Like
Reactions: ARG

MarioMaster

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
3,643
Points
63
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

Livinloud, well I guess I can't depend on the LaserBee, but my Norton security still won't allow my computer to recognize the meter. I spent an hour yesterday with a tech from Symantec trying to get the meter recognized and was told that there was a virus in the meter's program called Trojan.Gen.2. Still trying to get that resolved. If you can help me with that problem then Please help! Thanks, Paul

I saw some posts elsewhere about people with a similar problem. The virus scanners these days are really tweaked out to try and sniff for the faintest possibilities of malware, that a lot of stuff is falsely detected these days.

I believe a new version of the software was recently released that should not flag the antivirus, check their website.

This is more a problem of your software having a conflict, not the LPM being defective and is somewhat misleading.
 

Speedy78

New member
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
2,083
Points
0
Re: Radiant 4 LPM DEFECTIVE

I think your biggest issue may be in fact Norton itself. If it sees a program that it isnt familiar and millions of people dont have it writes it off as a virus and blocks it. Ive had a few "viruses" pop up from games theat I have installed. Got rid of Norton and no issues. As far as the name its pooping up with, thats a pretty nasty virus if it is infact correct. I cant see anyone here purposely putting that into the program. But if it is in fact there the computer it was programed with may in fact be infected and the user doesnt know and its just spreading itself around.
 




Top