Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Post your: Desk/Work area!

lazeerer

New member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
3,655
Points
0
Hey All,

So here is my newly put together workroom. This room is still not yet fully put back together, i still have some power supply's and laser driver current supplies and some more electronics that need to get put back into the room and a many little tool stuff but i would say 90% of it is done.:)

This is my Driver making,laser making & optics and laser labies work on room only. I have a second room "In the basement" where all the Big tools are like the lathe, drill press, metal cutter & soon to be added a Mill.:)"Cant wait for the Mill."

So whether iam working on making laser drivers or iam working on some handheld or DPSS laser labbies/Diode based labbies or working with laser crystals or just plain having fun and messing around its all done in this new room now.

Now i put this room together for several reason but one of the reasons is the main one and that is more table room. Before this i was limited to only a 5x5 foot work desk and the problem that i was having is and where alot of my slowness came from when work started picking up was i could really only work on one project at a given time. If i wanted to work on something else i would have to put away the first project to pull out the second project and so on every time i wanted to work on something new.

As you will see bellow Fixed that issue by adding more table top space and now i can work or 5-6 project easy at one time without having to worry about having to move one out of the way to work on something else. Its great. If you add in the optical table room i bet you i can get up to 8 things going at once.:wave:

So i pulled everything out of the room "Sorry i dint even think at the time to take picture of it when i did" and i painted all the walls again, did the trim and started to put everything back in.

Here it is 90% put back together:

Panoramic view:
DSC03931_zps214aae95.jpg


Computer and driver making section. "Note i have a temporary USB cable running from my computer to the other side of the room in order to plug my spectrometer in or any labbies that require Commands via RS232. I have a second old laptop that will go on the other side of the room with the spectrometer and stuff as its a little pain in the but to have to go back and forth to view the screen when your doing a spectra test report":
DSC03911_zps32f8a99c.jpg


Here is the added extended table in the center of the room. Gives me alot of more work room and space under the table to put stuff on:
DSC03912_zpscb25837f.jpg


Here is the optical table section. You can see a shelf on the right hand side. I plain on adding one more shelf there maybe 2 to make it 3 shelf total but iam not sure yet. I also plain on adding more shelving around the room especially behind the scope and to the left of the computer wall which you cant see in the first image above But here is the optical table section. I still need to add the my other power supply and my other laser diode driver power supply:
DSC03910_zps402f3b8a.jpg



Here is another view. You can see the wall behind the scope where i plain on putting 2 small shelves there or possible just one:
DSC03924_zps30910ef4.jpg


Just the table. You can see i add a 1x1 foot extension but normally i dont need it, it just fits perfect on the table just encase i do need it:
DSC03927_zps54f343e2.jpg


Here is the table when i first got it home. I got a killer deal on this optical table. It was Brand New Mint and never used but just had shelf wear a little on the bottom side of the board. I was so happy. Probably when it was laying on something. The top side though is mint no damage not even a tiny scratch on it. So for now iam using the bottom side facing up till i get use to using it and move everything back in as i dont want to damage the perfect top on the top side on it accidentally There is no difference using the top or bottom side its both the same thing.

The Optical Table is a Thorlabs 2 x 4 feet with 1/4"-20 tap holes. Its 1/2" thick with 5 mounting holes for rubber feet. Got it for $500 "What a steel huh.?"

Additionally i have 2 smaller optical boards as you see in the right of the image. They go for only ~$100 Bucks or so..
1) Is a 1' x 1' foot 1/4"-20 at 1/2" table from Thorlabs
2) is a 12" x 10" Inch 1/4"-20 at 1/2" table from Thorlabs also.

Optical Table:
DSC03861_zpsbdc87d70.jpg


Hopefully you guys will get to see me use it alot.:wave:

I also got all the stuff to go with the optical table but i wont go into to much detail on that stuff but i have 10 fully complete XYZ stages. variety brands. several single stages,optical mounts, Fiber mounts,bars,posts,clamps diode holders etc etc... All the stuff basically one needs. Though far from having a decent variety iam slowly getting there.

Here is also a Video i shot of the room:

This shows it better how its still needs a little more to go till its complete.


Hope you guys like it. I love the new work room.:beer:​
 



DJNY

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
5,992
Points
83
Impressive work area you put together :gj:
It´s much more fun to work with more space than someone need than less.

And with the upcoming mill another creativity limitation repealed :beer:
 

lazeerer

New member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
3,655
Points
0
Thanks Phi,

The Extra space is God sending. I love it. It has sped up my work at least 30% so far.:wave:

Whats funny though is it feels weird. Like iam not use to it. You know what i mean.? Like everything is at different places. I catch myself all the time reaching for something knowing that its not there anymore but my muscle memory from always reaching for it there keeps bring me to reach for say a tweezer that is no longer at the same spot as i use to keep it.

Its pretty funny. I got to get use to the new room setup.:)
 
D

Deleted member 16589

Guest
Wow nice that sure puts mine to shame Im cramed into 1 and 1/3 office cubicle desks my dad got us.
 

lazeerer

New member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
3,655
Points
0
Ive seen your space. Its not that little.:) You got some decent room to work. Before this i had maybe 3 out of that 5x5 foot table of true work room.:(
 

crazyspaz

New member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
2,862
Points
0
Awesome work area you got there. Like everyone elses, it sure puts my little desk to shame :/ but then im not making drivers, am I? :D
Also jealous of that optical table. 500$ in mint condition? Dang!

Oh, and welcome back! :)
 

lazeerer

New member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
3,655
Points
0
You only need enough work room with as much work you do. As they say bigger is not always better.:p I have alot of laser stuff and do alot of work on and laser and having limited table space no longer was cutting it.

I was limited to that white mate on the driver making section of the room.

With the amount of stuff that i need to work on and still need to go through i had no choose but to upgrade.

Next time i have some stuff out ill snap a few photos.:)


Yep $500 Bucks Mint.......and you know how long i waited to get that kind of deal.? About 8 months.

Listing after listing so many times i almost pulled the trigger on several 2x4 foot tables. Anywhere from $600 up to $900...

Oh and that $500 Buck was with shipping.:D Iam telling you guys it was a deal of a lifetime.

A table top like this in this new like condition would sell for more like ~$600 +Shipping and its shipping that kills you.

A table top like this IIRC would cost ~ 200$ in freight shipping.

Sometimes more depending on the seller.

The last table i was going to buy before this one was a Newport stainless steel top honeycomb table for $800 shipped.

This $500 deal came up 3 days after i almost bought that table. and that $800 table had damage to it.

The only thing i do not like is its black. In one way its good but on the other hand you cant use anything rare aluminum on it or it will stain/aluminum scuff marks behind.

All aluminum has to be anodize. Which is OK i know how to anodize but it sucks to have to do that when i make custom parts.

Luckily stainless steel and brass are OK.:)
 
D

Deleted member 16589

Guest
Ive seen your space. Its not that little.:) You got some decent room to work. Before this i had maybe 3 out of that 5x5 foot table of true work room.:(


Well If your referring to my videos Only the table with the O scope is mine the one i walk to on the other side is my brothers. :whistle:
 

lazeerer

New member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
3,655
Points
0
Well If your referring to my videos Only the table with the O scope is mine the one i walk to on the other side is my brothers. :whistle:

Even the one side. At least to me that is a good amount of room to have table wise.

You could always kick your brother out.:banned:

Instant double space.:crackup:
 
D

Deleted member 16589

Guest
well he has 2 full sized desks and never uses them and now is away in college I have 1 and 1/3 and fill both to capacity xD. I got duped.
 

Sigurthr

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
4,367
Points
83
Wow, Lazeerer, that workspace is gorgeous! My entire workspace is compressed into about 1/4 the total area of yours and it is maddening trying to get things done.
 

Cyparagon

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
9,874
Points
113
I just cleaned and re-organized mine. It looks a lot worse, typically.

100_0472.JPG


I loooove test gear. Preferably with lots of knobs and switches.

100MHz DSO, 20MHz CRO, 1MHz CRO from the 1950s, 2MHz frequency generators, pulse generator, CO2 laser, 70W temp-regulated soldering iron, soldering guns up to 300W, general purpose audio amp, laser power meter, audio power meter, spectrometer, thermal camera, 8x-100x stereo microscope, 0-120V 25A variac, 120V-240V 12A variac, a couple 120/240/480v 1.5 kVA isolation/step-up/step-down transformers, a few beefy neon sign transformers, 0-1kV voltage standard, 0-500mA current source, lots of DMMs up to 5.5 digits, and quite a variety of bench power supplies. Highest voltage is 0-2kV 0-90mA (triac-based). Highest power is 0-40V 0-70A (triac-based). highest current is 0-5.25V 0-325A (switchmode).
 
Last edited:

ped

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
4,913
Points
113
The Triac based 70A PSU, is that linear ? If so that must nearly be a two man lift!
 

crazyspaz

New member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
2,862
Points
0
Yea, thats incredible! Where is your spectrometer? I don't see it on any of the shelves.
 

Cyparagon

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
9,874
Points
113
The Triac based 70A PSU, is that linear ? If so that must nearly be a two man lift!

Triac/scr power supplies are the outdated 1970s version of switchmode. Instead of FETs, they used triacs/scrs,
which means the switching frequency is 120Hz instead the >20 KHz of modern switchmode. This means the load
transient response time is worse (how fast the supply can recover from a sudden change in load... 50ms compared
to a modern 3ms), but the output ripple is not too bad (90mVrms or 160mArms ripple for this model, compared with
a modern switchmode's 15mVrms/200mArms), and the filtering needs to be much larger. This one is 104lb/47kg, so
I can lift it, but just barely. The efficiency does rival that of switchmode, however (77% versus 87% for a modern
unit). Here's a pic/drawing I did for someone on laserchat a while back. They're quite simple, but effective in their
design. $90 ebay find :D

Sorenson%20DCR40-70B.jpg


Where is your spectrometer? I don't see it on any of the shelves.

Not everything I mentioned is in view, but the spectrometer is there - right in the middle, standing vertically.
Follow the orange optical cable and you might spot it.
 
Last edited:




Top