Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Pilot Looking for info

Good afternoon.

I'm a pilot who posts on a pilot web forum, and as I'm sure you are well aware, laser pointers being shone at aircraft is a subject that is getting more and more attention.

I have used military hand-held laser pointers like the LPL30 and laser designators before so I am not completely ignorant about lasers, but I certainly have no specific knowledge beyond a reasonable grasp of physics.

The reason I am posting on here is that I am looking for authoritative references re laser safety ranges for various laser strengths/colours etc.

To give you some context and give you an idea where I am coming from.

Many pilots and pilot organisations are getting very excited about pilots getting eye damage from idiots with hand held pointers.

To me, that just does not add up. The difficulties of actually targeting a cockpit with a hand held laser for long enough to damage at ranges of miles seems unrealistic. If it were that easy, then militaries the world over would bin SAMs immediately and just man the borders with millions of kids with pointers.

That said, I have no facts to back up my belief, and more peculiarly, the Virgin pilot who turned back has got damage to his eye.

Can anyone point me in the direction of where to find scientific data on these things?
Or even post tables/graphs or eye safety for various lasers?

Also, does anybody on here actually think that they could actually produce a laser that would damage eyes at 13000ft and a range of many miles?
If you really wanted to, could it be done with commercially available kit and at what cost? Would it need special tracking kit?

My thought process is that if you guys couldn't do it, then idiots who got a pointer for xmas couldn't either.