Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Knife edge vs. PBS

Hello guys,

I'm gonna make a liquid sky for my campsite at burningman and am wonder what is the best way to do it.

I'm using 2-m140's. I have a 445nm PBS and a knife edge array from said projector. What would be better to use for combining the beams? :thanks:

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Michael.

daguin

For your purpose, either will work fine
Choose the easiest for you

Peace,
dave

I've never done knife edge before, I've seen andycons website though. Since I have you, what would be better for bouncing the beam... A laser printer hex mirror or a spiro set up?

Michael

daguin

I've never done knife edge before, I've seen andycons website though. Since I have you, what would be better for bouncing the beam... A laser printer hex mirror or a spiro set up?

Michael

Do you want a "cone" (spiro) or a "line" (hex) ?

Peace,
dave

Last edited:
It'd probably be easier for you to power using a spiro setup, and you could add multiple controls/fan as needed. I've worked with a laser printer mirror and though they are really fast and stable, you need to get the power right, angle the laser towards the hex correctly, and also ensure that your beam is small enough to be fully reflected. The hex mirror also moves extremely fast, which is probably not needed for your setup.

I'd go with the PBS if you're using only two lasers. The knife-edge will require you to get them side-by-side which may affect the shape of the beam. The optics on the projector knife-edge array are also not precisely aligned because the projectors only needed a large mass of blue light, not a beam.

JLSE

There are a few ways to knife edge. Most commonly the diodes are side by side with 2 mirrors,