Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

New build, and a new guy!

Wmacky

I decided to check out this forum 3 days ago, and was instantly hooked! I have some basic electronics knowledge, mainly in tube gear, but no formal training. However, I did do a scratch build of a high performance audio vacuum tube amp a while back. I have good soldering equipment "Hakko", and even some decent test gear such as an oscilloscope.

I've already put in about 20 hours reading this weekend! :beer: and have even put in some orders. I have a X4 LPM on the way, and working on some certified glasses for a forum member. For the build, I have decided on, and ordered a MS-SSW 3 host with one of DTR's 9mm 445 diode / module packages, and put in the orders for both. I've even boned up on how to remove the praised G9 lens!

My biggest issue id the driver amperage. I'm going with a V6 Xdrive in either 2.2 or 2.4 amps. Reading the super long 445 thread has left me confused. Some people were getting dimming at 2.1 amps, while DTR recommends 2.4?

What say you? I would be willing to sacrifice some power to gain diode life. Must I purchase a Lab supply to test the actual diode I receive? perhaps it would be easier to just to go 2.2?

Last edited:

Greetings,

I normally use drivers that are advertised at 2.5a, but are normally closer to 2.3 to 2.4a. At 2.4a your normally going to get around 3w with a G9 or similar lens. If you are concerned about diode life, but still want to get close to 3w I would suggest a current of 2.3a. You will likely get from 2.5 to 2.9w with a G9 or similar lens and as long as you don't run it for too long, should give reasonable life expectancy.

cheers,
Moe

BowtieGuy

LPF Site Supporter
Welcome to LPF Wmacky,