Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

My first build. By a beginner, for beginners.

Hi.

This thread briefly details my first experience of building anything electronic. My background is mechanical engineering, and I've always stayed clear of the voodoo witchcraft also known as electronics, or more accurately, circuits.

Bear in mind I hadn't so much as soldered a thing until I got around to this, my point being that I strongly recommend to anyone who might have been put off by the apparent difficulty of electronics to just have a go.

There's a lot of jargon, and a few basic principles you need to get to grips with, but the amount of info available in general, not to mention what's already available on this forum is a lot more than you need to make a productive start.

As well as googling a lot, and browsing this forum, I also used a book called "Starting Electronics" by Keith Brindley, which is excellent and takes you step by step, providing exercises at the end of each chapter to test yourself.

Huge thanks also to those members that helped point out errors, and clear up confusion when I got stuck now and then. Sometimes you really can't see the forest for the trees, and an experienced perspective can quickly set you straight. Just make sure you have a proper go at sorting it yourself first :)

Right then, on with the build.

I used a "DDL" driver design created by a guy called "Daedal", I believe, as it crops up often and seems well recommended. To be honest, it has only a few parts, and looked easy enough to start with.
16xreddriverschematic.jpg