Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



B&W-tech Spectrometer & 473 module: Setup+Mods+Info

chloderic

Active member
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
Messages
324
Points
43
Hi Chloderic,

Whenever you get time, would you mind doing a coefficient query command (?C) on one of your units and post the result?
I can't seem to set the coefficients on my stock unit. It accepts the command, but noting changes when I check the results.
There are other things as well that don't behave as stated in the manual.
For instance, the integration time can't be set below 50 ms on my stock unit.
Hi, in the posting #404 here .... this was a response in ascii ... is it this what you are searching for ? But it is no problem to do it again with one of the not modified units ....
 



Richard A

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
42
Points
8
Hi, in the posting #404 here .... this was a response in ascii ... is it this what you are searching for ? But it is no problem to do it again with one of the not modified units ....

No need. That answered my question. Thanks.
I can either make the new PCB behave as in the manual, or
like it actually is. Maybe I'll just store 32-bit floats.
 

Richard A

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
42
Points
8
There's been a bit of a hiatus from the spectrometer controller project as I've been busy with other things and was also on vacation with friends and family. There isn't much left to do.
 

paul1598419

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
18,270
Points
113
Hope it works out for you. Many here had issues with these spectrometers that made it difficult to continue with them.
 

Civitus

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
80
Points
8
Hi Every one !
I think that one member of the firum has wrote a code to run the B&W Tek refurbished spectrometer.
Can you please, help me to find the link ?
Cheers
C
 

ArcticDude

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
2,606
Points
113
Hi Every one !
I think that one member of the firum has wrote a code to run the B&W Tek refurbished spectrometer.
Can you please, help me to find the link ?
Cheers
C
Here >> .. DL link is dead but send pm to him ;)
 

jnrpop

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
716
Points
63
Hi Every one !
I think that one member of the firum has wrote a code to run the B&W Tek refurbished spectrometer.
Can you please, help me to find the link ?
Cheers
C

This thread has a mountain of information, and results from experiments by a handful of skilled members here. A thorough read could prove beneficial.

Tip: Moscs software was great, much better than the software that was sent with these B&W Spec units. For me the best results came from using the Spectrum Studio software. Then a member here, Chloderic calibrated my unit, which required writing code to the unit. My unit is still yeilding amazingly accurate results, with 532nm DPSS lasers measuring in at 532.14nm which is spot on. The range on my unit was successfully lengthed by removing the Filter optic which sits in the output couple. Again, you will find all this info and more reading this thread :)

I know....but its 54 pages long ;)

J
 

Alaskan

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 29, 2014
Messages
12,967
Points
113
I need to get that software too, I PM'd Moscs, waiting.
 

Mosc007

Active member
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
577
Points
43
I wasnt following this thread anymore. I just noticed it.

The link to the latest v1.5 is still working. But the Link to the full install version is not.


The stand alone exe file might be usable. It should create a new config file when you run it. If its not usable I can find the full install and upload it again.


After I wrote my own software the "Lock" on Spectrum Studio was removed so it can be used on Spectro's not supplied by them.
 

ArcticDude

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
2,606
Points
113
I wasnt following this thread anymore. I just noticed it.

The link to the latest v1.5 is still working. But the Link to the full install version is not.


The stand alone exe file might be usable. It should create a new config file when you run it. If its not usable I can find the full install and upload it again.


After I wrote my own software the "Lock" on Spectrum Studio was removed so it can be used on Spectro's not supplied by them.
Thanks! :)
 

ArsenioDev

New member
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
1
Points
1
Alrighty everyone, I've been lurking here for a while and after a sad sad happening where when I powered up my spectrometer it goes through the red and green on at the same time to solid red regardless of what I do and all my Prolific adapters are BORKED I'm stumped. Is the red light it telling me that it's dead?
If so, I'm probably going to take a page out of Richard A's book and make a custom PCB for it based around some Analog Devices ADCs and a STM32F411 with a nice USB type C and 12v power support and then open source the boards. Problem is I am ABYSMAL at writing software, but I'd like to get it to work somehow with existing computer based software.
 

chloderic

Active member
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
Messages
324
Points
43
Alrighty everyone, I've been lurking here for a while and after a sad sad happening where when I powered up my spectrometer it goes through the red and green on at the same time to solid red regardless of what I do and all my Prolific adapters are BORKED I'm stumped. Is the red light it telling me that it's dead?
If so, I'm probably going to take a page out of Richard A's book and make a custom PCB for it based around some Analog Devices ADCs and a STM32F411 with a nice USB type C and 12v power support and then open source the boards. Problem is I am ABYSMAL at writing software, but I'd like to get it to work somehow with existing computer based software.
Hello everybody,

after I have been struggling with my spine for more than a year and now recovering physically after an operation,
I would like to try to take part in this community again from time to time.

Yesterday I received an email about this post and will therefore start with it.

In all my spectrometers, the LED is always red after the self-test and thus indicates readiness, so a red LED is not an indication of a defective module, on the contrary ...

Did you ever have access to the spectrometer before?
What does the self-test say?

Every now and then the module gets stuck, which could be remedied with a reset or use with other software when the self-test indicated a pass OK.

greeting

Bernd
 




Top