Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Why don't we make laser pointers backwards?

I was just thinking about frequent problems that I've seen in laser pointers like the "wings" from diodes or splash, I'm no expert on optics but wouldn't it be beneficial to build a laser the other way around?

By using the entire body length of the pointer for optics with a narrow aperture at the very end I would think that much better beam characteristics would be achievable, as well as eliminating the unwanted bits since they have a chance to diverge away from the dot. Here's an example of what I was thinking:

UPTf1.png

Would be interested to hear from someone more knowledgeable about this :)

Last edited:

ARG

Interesting! I like the idea. I think the best way to use this room would be to use a 405-G-2 to colimate the beam then use cylindrical optics to correct it. That would probably give you the best beam specs for a multi-mode diode. Prisms might give you even better results, but those are a pain to setup for a handheld.

However, I hate beams that do not come out of the laser centered and this would drive me insane ;)

But to answer your question, the reason lasers aren't made backwards like this is because most lasers are built from flashlights and the reflector is replaced with the heat sink, doing something like this would cost a lot more as it requires a custom host.

Last edited:
I was just thinking about frequent problems that I've seen in laser pointers like the "wings" from diodes or splash, I'm no expert on optics but wouldn't it be beneficial to build a laser the other way around?