Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Oh Yeah, New YAG Laser

Hi

I stumble on this thread; sorry to barge in just like that...

I bought a SSY-1, PFN, trigger, etc. but I couldn't figure how to fire this up..

(a) Where is the laser coming out from? The sides of the YAG rod, or somewhere else?
(b) How do I build a power supply to drive this? Because I read that it uses up to 900 V DC!!

I am still a newbie in laser. :)

Check out Sam's site for good info on the SSY1: http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/laserscl.htm#sclsy1

Here is my SSY1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJGxT2E1Bhk . I built my own pulse forming network and powered it with a commercial 500VDC power supply. The SSY1, PFN, and trigger all work together so you will be able to get it lasing pretty quickly just using alligator jumpers. The beam is emitted from the end with the red wire coming out. You will need a pair of protective glasses if you want to watch it in action. The PFN assembly is pretty tame for the laser head but it'll still emit a good mJ pulse.

As far as charging the capacitors you can find simple HV cap chargers on ebay quite often or you can build your own. Sam's also has schematics for just such circuits.

The SSY-1 can be powered up with a power supply from a good camera strobe. Do the math to determine the joule input with your circuit AND wear protective goggles. This isn't DPSS mW country.

Mike

Isn't the PFN the capacitors too?

I did try with a camera strobe; and managed to get the zenon flash once and that's it.