Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

JL tail cap question kinda OT

I have a JL PL-E Pro. I am also an amateur lock picker. There seems to be some type of tubular lock on the tail cap of my PL-E; but it is a non standard size which is 7.8mm, or less common 7.5 or 7.0. Most common pin configurations are 7 pin or 8 pin; but the JL lock does not have any visible pins.

The standard rule of thumb is to never pick a lock that is in use and I have no plans to try and pick the tubular lock on the back of my JL PL-E. But when I posted a pix of the lock at the lockpicking forum I am a member of posters there were very interested in the type of lock used.

Can anyone answer the question of what type of lock is on the tail cap of JL lasers.

As an aside if someone showed a pix of a laser beam that was orange with green polka dots there would be multiple questions about it; it is the same with lock pickers that see a lock they have never seen before.

I've also been into lock picking for the past 45 years. Got interested from a locksmith friend many years ago. I haven't kept up with it much in the past 10 years or so. Still have several sets of lock picks for various kinds of locks.

do you need a key??

Not yet. But I am interested in what type of key and lock is used. So far it seems like the key and lock are similar to what is used on some file cabinets in the US from what my lockpicking guys are saying.

But am trying to get up to speed on tail caps. Seems like there is an option for a push button or a lock and key on the PL-E. I thought I read somewhere that the lock and key was a tad bit more powerful while the push button had different power levels. I am wondering if it would be possible to have two tail caps and switch them out.