Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

FrothyChimp & the state of affairs

Hi2all,

I still consider myself a noob here and will do so for some time to come. I have and am trying to provide the community with some form of useful input with my reviews and occasional suggestions and/or carefully thought-out opinions, but there's no doubt I'm still wet behind the ears :undecided:

As such, I really depend on LPF's mentors and Sr. members and so it is really disheartening to hear of such members getting fed up and leaving (or hopefully, just taking a break from) LPF. The most recent example is FrothyChimp who has taught me a lot about safety practices, among other things. I came across this post in Mohrenberg's FDA thread recently:

I think I'm going to move on. ... This forum lately has been overrun with ignorance and I don't care to be around it. I guess the change over is about as good a point to make a clean break as any. For you laser professionals out there (you know who you are), I'll see you around the neighborhood.

I'm a member of over 100 forums and LPF is one of the more "professional" forums on average, but I have to admit there is still enough members posting crap and arguing pointlessly with trade professionals.

I just don't get it... :huh:

I hope that FrothyChimp will reconsider his decision but I also hope that more of us will come to appreciate his and other professional members' input here at LPF. Because it's people like him that make LPF what it is and I hate to see it loose it's most important resource... :cryyy:

I'm not worried for Frothy... he knows what he is doing...
From what I read he was fed up of the typical whinny experts who can't
understand simple social etiquette.

He was trying to convey the logic that.. you don't piss off the guy that's