Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Color Vision Project

Hey Folks,

From viewing some threads in this forum, I realize that many of the users on this forum are very knowledgeable when it comes to the field of lasers; I am thus coming to you guys for some help, as I am very new to this topic.

Anyways, I am attempting to design a device for a color vision study using laser diodes. I wish to achieve pseudo-monochromatic light of red, green and blue colors. A human subject should be able to adjust the intensities of these laser diodes to produce a given color.

I'm not sure which laser diodes would best suit this application. Additionally, the human subject should be able to view the color of laser light. Is there some sort of diffuser screen or device that allows humans to accurately view the color of light emitted from a visible laser without damaging the retina?

Any help is greatly appreciated; thanks!

Morgan

An interesting project you have there.

There are available diodes to do this sort of thing, it just depends on budget really.

As to a device or diffuser screen to safely view then, as long as power outputs are kept sensible, (others may be able to help you calculate this more scientifically), you could just use an unfocussed diode. Lasers don't have to be pencil thin beams you know ;) .

Low powered greens are pretty cheap now; reds are the same and there is a new kid on the block in blue but this maybe, (almost certainly!), overkill due to the power.

Have you fully explored the route of simple filtering to attain the required colours? You mention pseudo-monochromatic. Nothing pseudo-monochromatic about laser light! This experiment could probably be achieved more cheaply and hassle free with conventional lighting. IMO.