Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Blue-Violet 405nm laser diode

I am new to the world of lasers but am diving in head first. I am shredding a Maglite flashlight and swapping in a 405nm laser diode for the bulb. I've looked into how to connect it and that doesn't bother me. However in discussing with various people (Kip Kay sent me here), I've been told I'd need a driver in order not to blow the diode fairly early in its life. If so what kind of diode/how should I set it up? I intend to use the laser as a star pointer as well as a burning laser, but I do not think I'd have any reason for using it at very high outputs. That said, is there a way to avoid a driver and still maintain laser life? Any tips would be greatly appreciated! Also, where can I get a good price on a 405nm blue-violet laser? I found some on eBay with decent pricing, but this seems to be where the experts are, and I'd love some advice. Additionally, if I do need a driver, and I still want to fit it into the housing of a Maglite flashlight, it would need to be pretty small; how small can they get and where can I get/how can I make such a tiny driver?

Many many thanks, Philip

ZAAAAAAAAAAP!!!!

Yes you need a driver. a rckstr or a flex drive or the diy ddl driver. But if you are looking for a star pointer, a low powered blu-ray isn't going to work. It would be best to buy a green. They are pretty cheap for descent power. I have 50mw from www.ledshoppe.com it works great and has an amazing beam. ;D

2 x AAA batteries aren't enough to run a blu-ray, so you need some sort of driver. Also, there is the dead diode problem if you don't use a driver