Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Which budget Laser Power Meter for measuring telescope mirror reflectivity?

Tatsu

I am an amateur astronomer and would like to test the reflectivity of my telescope mirrors. My idea is to use one of my laser pointers (nominal 20mW and 100mW) and measure the intensity before and after the reflection in the mirror. Typical mirror reflectivities in astronomy are 96-99%, which means that the laser power meter (LPM) should have an accuracy of at least 1%. Is there any affordable LPM on the market that would do the trick? Affordable in my case would mean max around 250 US$.
I have the possibility to buy a second hand Sanwa LP-1 / Sper Scientific 840011.
rebrand.ly/nrdep6
Will this LPM be able to do what I want?

Last edited:

Would be way too unreliable. Lasers measure more of a difference than that measuring them 1 minute apart. I don't know if the laser is unstable or if it's the LPM. Maybe it could be done with a lab laser and an lpm in an extremely temperature controlled environment, but with just regular hobbyist stuff no way.

Tatsu

Brendon, thank you for your near immediate reply. I am not sure if I understand you correctly. Are you saying that temperature shifts from one measurement to the other - in the environment or within the laser - will create an error margin far above the intended accuracy of the measurement?

Brendon, thank you for your near immediate reply. I am not sure if I understand you correctly. Are you saying that temperature shifts from one measurement to the other - in the environment or within the laser - will create an error margin far above the intended accuracy of the measurement?