Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

TOTAL noob here...trying to get into this.

Hey, I'm Spirit. I'm here looking for a bit of guidance with an upcoming project I've been wanting to embark on for quite some time. I want to build a decent little 1w 445nm blue laser or perhaps a burning green laser and put it into a neat housing such as a toy laser gun, Nintendo Zapper or Lightsaber handle...something to that effect. I know I'm probably going to be told not to try it, but I've got a couple competent buddies that are going to each do some research and we've all got a little bit of electronics experience between us, so....we're gonna try it anyway. If any of the pros here can point me toward a CHEAP source of parts and give me some pointers and help I'd appreciate it greatly. Thanx in advance for your input, guys.

Ash

Yes safety glasses are a must when building lasers. 1W lasers are no toy. :yabbem:
You will be just as amazed at the sight of a 50mW green laser as a 1W blue (possibly more so). :bday:
I recommend starting small... there is no reason to invest a lot of money.

You can put a burning green laser into a nofriendo gun for less than $37.98 (including 1 pair of safety glasses and battery holder) if you know where to shop. :cool:
Seriously. Eye injury from lasers is no joke.
Read these::undecided:
Link
Yesterday
Link
Link

THanks for the replies, fellas. Yeah I read about the unfortunate incident yesterday...I am DEFINITELY aware of the need for safety lenses when operating these things....
You may be right, a 500mw green diode may be the way to go, but one thing I want out of this is the ability to burn stuff (paper, light campfires, etc.).