Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Testing for IR filter?

Ended up with an e-bay 30mW laser from as a groomsman gift. I've done a bit of reading and probably know that there isn't an IR (hoping there is though) filter on this thing, but of course the seller claims there is.
I think it was from HDE (Hottest Deals Ever).

Wondering if there is an easy way to test for the filter? I've read things about using cola as a filter for the green and viewing with a DV on night mode. Tried that but there was still visable green through the cola. What about using color filters that come with TV calibration discs? Red, Green, Blue?

Follow-up, assuming there isn't already a filter in place, how difficult/advisable is it to add one? Obviosly I have no experience taking these things apart.

Thanks.

Dont worry about it. the IR poses virtually no safety risk when compared to the green coming out. Worry about the green, not the IR, and you'll be fine.

Why are there so many people that caution against the IR? Even the FAQ on this forum say it's pretty dangerous.

The IR output may be dozens of times greater than the green light output, so from close up, it can be enough to damage your eyes. Since it's invisible, there is no warning for you. However, the IR generally isn't as well collimated as the green, so it doesn't stay in a thin beam but spreads. On one hand, that's good, as it will be harmless after a couple of meters or so. On the other hand, this may mean that IR is hitting your eye when you think you're aiming the laser past your head.