Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Switching vs. Linear LED drivers

i really have no idea about this so please help me. this is actually a research for school and i can't find references from the internet. :cryyy:

Im still a little new to laser technology but from what i've read previously, linear drivers are more stable... if I'm wrong someone here with more knowlege will correct me,

HIMNL9

It's a bit more complex ..... way of working, capacity, the ability for switching to work also as boost (where the linears are just buck), efficence, and other .....

What exactly do you need to know, as research argument ? ..... principles ? ..... designs ? ..... circuits ? .....

Whats the difference between boost and buck... I've been a tad lost on that, I'm guessing the boost drives boost up the voltage to the required voltage and the buck drives don't? Idk if you would know what would happen if you joined a buck and boost in parallel(sp), (other than there would be more mw/ma being put out)

Linear drivers are your no nonsense basic voltage and current controllers. A few basic components can make a very powerful one.

Switching drivers are much more complicated. They require many more components. The end result is a driver with up to 95% efficiency, but switching devices often end up introducing more "noise" into the output. So if you go cheap with a switching device, it might not be as "quiet".

HIMNL9

Whats the difference between boost and buck... I've been a tad lost on that, I'm guessing the boost drives boost up the voltage to the required voltage and the buck drives don't? Idk if you would know what would happen if you joined a buck and boost in parallel(sp), (other than there would be more mw/ma being put out)