Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Proper method for focusing high power lasers?

What is the proper method for focusing a high power laser?

I recently finished up my first 445nm 1W build. However, I'm not entirely sure how to focus it for the least divergence. I assume the best way to go about it is to simply adjust it a little, turn it on, check divergence, turn it off, adjust, check, etc... This is probably a total noob question. I just don't want to be sticking my hand near the aperture while the laser is on and causing damage to my eyes with diffuse reflection.

Also, how do I know when I've got it as good as I can possibly adjust it?

For myself, I just wait until dark and point strait up into the sky (if no airplanes present) and adjust the focus until I see the beam as thin as possible for as far as you can see it go.

You could also point the laser at a wall far away and adjust the focus until the spot is a small as possible.

Last edited:
Right, it would make sense that you could simply point the laser skyward and adjust it until the laser is narrowest at it's furthest visible point. However, I have to assume that adjustments are made with glasses on and that the glasses will need to be removed to see the beam in order to check proper focusing? In other words is it safe to adjust the small adjuster and risk getting your fingers in the beam without glasses?

Hello! :yh:

I recently finished up my first 445nm 1W build. However, I'm not entirely sure how to focus it for the least divergence. I assume the best way to go about it is to simply adjust it a little, turn it on, check divergence, turn it off, adjust, check, etc...