Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Phlatlight PT-54 TEC driver

DTR

I got a question from a buyer and I am not sure exactly what to recommend as I have not used the TEC before in a project. Here is what he asked.

"I don't mean to cast any doubts on the description of the modules, but I wonder if the TECs really can operate at 12 V. I am running them at 5 Volts (about 2 amps) and the thermistor reads around 0 degrees C. I am a bit nervous about running the TECs at 12V not wanting to burn them up. How much current do they draw at 12V?"

Now this is how I answered.

I am no expert on the TEC's but from what I have understand they require current limiting drivers like laser diodes do. As they heat up their internal resistance drops and they will draw more and more current. I don't think you can just feed them a specific voltage with no current regulation. But I will ask around.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to correctly drive these TEC's?

AnthoT

I got a question from a buyer and I am not sure exactly what to recommend as I have not used the TEC before in a project. Here is what he asked.

"I don't mean to cast any doubts on the description of the modules, but I wonder if the TECs really can operate at 12 V. I am running them at 5 Volts (about 2 amps) and the thermistor reads around 0 degrees C. I am a bit nervous about running the TECs at 12V not wanting to burn them up. How much current do they draw at 12V?"

Now this is how I answered.

I am no expert on the TEC's but from what I have understand they require current limiting drivers like laser diodes do. As they heat up their internal resistance drops and they will draw more and more current. I don't think you can just feed them a specific voltage with no current regulation. But I will ask around.