Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Often used abbrevations and acronyms

Since I'm pretty new with this stuff and the communinty here, I have a hard time to understand some messages.

There are some abbrevations that are used quite often and some of them I already have deciphered.

I do know general forum shortcuts but this forum uses a lot of topic specific acronyms that may be obvious to veterans but are not that clear to new guests.

But there already may be a "list of often used tems" that could provide some help to me - and that escaped my attention till now. Certainly it's not a good idea to ask them one by one by occasion. :thinking:

Is there? Or would this be cheating and it's part of the game to prove I can climb that mountain on my own?

Thanks,
Robert

Thanks for kicking me into the right direction. I tried the search on a couple of possible keywords with "no result". It helps when you know what you are looking for. Probably the search engine filters a couple of often used "fill words" from the search. Bad for looking up a "fillword".
;)

BowtieGuy

LPF Site Supporter
No problem, hopefully some of those will help until you become familiar with the terminology.
I just searched "Laser acronym" in the "custom search bar located at the bottom of the page, there is a wealth of laser related information located there! :yh:

Last edited:
and this one even is a sticky. :banghead:

Even so, I will spell out the word then in parentheses put the acronym or abbreviation for newbies. After I do that in a reply I will shorthand rather than spelling out. For example, the word Rayleigh Range which is a long term I'll abbreviate (RR).

This is indeed very helpful.