Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

New to lasers, hope someone can shed some light on the situation

I'm new to lasers but, I've been casually lurking off and on for a little while now.

It's my understanding that violet lasers can be a bit harder to see at any given time than Red and Green lasers, is the same true for blue?

Outside of visibility is there any real hope of finding a cheap blue laser light that has a good visibility in general?

The eye sees light around 560nm the strongest, the farther you get in wavelength from this point the dimmer your eyes perceive it.

That being said the common blues available at around 450nm are relatively bright for how far it is from the vision peak. Part of the reason is because night adapted eyes are more sensitive to blue light than day adapted eyes, and we tend to view lasers in the dark.

By the way, power for power standard reds at 658nm are dimmer than 450nm blues, at least to my eyes.

Gun

Yes you can find some fairly cheap blue lasers (you get what you pay for). Not sure exactly what you're looking for, do you want a low-powered pointer or a high-powered beast? If you're interested in some comparisons between green and blue lasers, check out THIS video made my styropyro, an LPF member. He also has a video comparing red and blue lasers HERE.

Also, be sure to get some safety goggles if you're dealing with lasers!

Last edited:
The eye sees light around 560nm the strongest, the farther you get in wavelength from this point the dimmer your eyes perceive it.

That being said the common blues available at around 450nm are relatively bright for how far it is from the vision peak. Part of the reason is because night adapted eyes are more sensitive to blue light than day adapted eyes, and we tend to view lasers in the dark.