Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

New to lasers! Got a few questions.

Okay, well im RELATIVELY new to lasers. I've had some red and green lasers but nothing above 5mW. Except for one time but thats a whole nother story... Anyways, i was looking to buy a Rayfoss 50mW Green laser, and the Green laser glasses they sell, and i figured after some reading on this sight that i will be perfectly safe, and probably safe even without the glasses. No i will not let my friends use this without glasses on, because i dont wanna be responsible. Now i just wanna know if this is a smart start for me, and if i can burn some stuff with this. Maybe light some matches, cut some tape, and shine at stuff. The laser has a keyswitch so its legal in the US, and i wont shine it at airplanes or at anything i shouldnt. Am i good?

Welcome!

50mW will be very bright compared to what you say you have been used to. Burning
power will be on the low side, but using a samll magnifing lens should get the laser to
do the basic burning tricks. If you really want to do some burning, 100mW will offer
some good fun, or perhaps changing to a different wavelength for even more power.

You should be fine. Even with 50mW though, don't let it reflect into your eyes off of a shiny surface -- and certainly don't stare right at it.. But as far as looking at the spot, beams in the sky, etc - yes I'd say 50mW is a good place to start.

Cool, well i was also looking at the Violet laser, thats 50mW, but i couldn't find any glasses for it. And would it be worth it to just upgrade to 100mW?

If you want to do burning, yes. You'd probably get the 50 and wish you went to 100 anyways. :) And the brightness really will be impressive - just be more careful.