Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Need some Information!

Hey guys, i'm new to this whole green laser scene and need some help.

After stumbling around on the internet for a couple hours, i've been kinda leaning towards a X75 Compact Portable Laser from Nova Lasers. My main concern being new to this whole scene is the whole IR deal. Now all their lasers say they have one installed at 95.5%. What i would like to know is if this is a good company to buy from, if their IR filters are reliable and don't leak, if anyone has bought a laser from Nova before? Also if its not necessarily a great route to go, where would a beginner look to get a powerful (safe) laser. I don't want to get all technical and have to wear eye protection to block out IR waves, but i don't want to go blind ; / However i want a powerful enough laser to be able to pop balloons, and do some burning. All input is greatly appreciated!

I know i'm under 20 posts, but i'll try and post the link.

wwwDOTnovalasersDOTcom/NOVAstore/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=3&idproduct=85
replace the DOT's ;D

Yeah, Nova Lasers is a good company. Haven't bought from them personally, but many people on these forums have and they have a good rep ;)

Nova is a good company, and no doubt have well filtered lasers.  If you're buying a PGL-III type lasers (alpha series) they'll be really well filtered, with far less IR than even a 5mW NewWish.  I assume the X-series is also made to those standards as well.

IgorT

laffinggas said:
What i would like to know is if this is a good company to buy from, if their IR filters are reliable and don't leak, if anyone has bought a laser from Nova before?