Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



My internet quit working

lazer

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
361
Points
0
I am running windows XP. I was downloading a movie from itunes and about 3/4 through the download the internet quit working. In the status window of the local area connection it shows no packets being received or sent. I tried repairing the connection and it just says
"Failed to query TCP/IP settings of the connection. Cannot proceed." :( It's a desktop by the way. The internet works fine on my laptop which i'm using right now. How do I fix it?



Another more minor problem i'm having with my macbook pro is that I can't get the home share to work. Apparently it's because I need to give the account permission to use home share in itunes. I try to go to check the box to allow home share in itunes but it won't let me. The bow is that dull gray color so you cant change it. Do I need to be on the administrator account to give that user permission to use home share?
 
Last edited:



lazer

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
361
Points
0
New problem with the desktop that wont connect to the internet. I just restarted it and the blue screen came up saying that a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to my computer. The blue screen says that the problem was caused by the file: rdbss.sys What's up with my computer?! :(
 

lazer

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
361
Points
0
Another update: It just rebooted again and a box came up saying that it just recovered from a serious error. Here is the error signature: BCCode: 100000d4 BCP2: 0000001C
BCP3: 00000001 BCP4: 80502CCC OSVer: 5_1_2600 SP: 3_0 Product: 768_1
 

lazer

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
361
Points
0
alright I'll back everything up. A hardware failure would also explain why it freezes up and crashes at least once a month.
 

ZRTMWA

New member
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
1,320
Points
0
My internet started acting when I was downloading a torrent file. I had to unplug the modem and magically it just started working again. It was wierd...
 

HIMNL9

New member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
5,416
Points
0
Oh, M$ products are filled of (unwanted) surprises ..... just as example .....

Some days ago, my internet stopped to work, and always say me TCP connection failed and similar errors, so i checked the network connection for see what happened, and, surprise surprise, in the network connections window, i found 2 network adapters (and i have only 1 ethernet adapters, on the pc)

The first one, Realtek, was "working" as hardware, and "disconnected" as working status ..... the magically appeared new one had "Microsoft TV" as hardware ID name, the "connected, with firewall" as status, and both the adapters was blocked, no "restart", no "disconnect", no actived commands in the drop-down menu (all the voices was grayed, i mean)

I had to switch off the PC manually with the back button, for turn it off, and when i turned it on again, no more second network connection, and all was back to the original status ..... but the question is:

What the hell is "Microsoft TV", and how the hell it self-appeared on my PC as network connection ?

(BTW, i have also always self-updates and microsoft update turned off, and also the "windows update" service on manual and stopped, usually, so i doubt that was winupdate guilty ..... but with M$ products, is never possible to say something for sure ..... and when i asked to M$ technical service for an explanation and help, i only received a denial about the existence of things like these ones in XP, no explanations nor help :p)
 

HIMNL9

New member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
5,416
Points
0
^ yes ..... IF i had any type of webcam and / or netmeeting connection, at the moment .....

But i connect the webcam on-the-fly only when i need to take a pic, i don't have any netmeeting nor messenger software installed (yes, i estirped them :p), and when the thing happened, i was just not using the webcam at all ..... and, opposite of that what they say, the connection had no way to be disabled (all the commands greyed and locked) ..... in fact, the only way to turn off the pc, that time, was a brutal switch-off, cause also just the "shut down" commands was not working (and the internet work light on my router was blinking as a crazy :p) .....

Ah, well, i'm keeping an eye about that, and if the thing happens again, i flood all the M$ servers with requests of clarification, this time :p :crackup:
 




Top