Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Looking for: Beginner's Guide to a Simple Laser Pointer, Ideally with a one-stop shop for the related parts

Mnemon94

I am new to navigating this sphere, and I can't seem to find a good beginner friendly resource to assemble a basic laser --> everything I find is either:

1. Links to stores where I can buy parts whose function I do not understand without context because I am coming from a place of knowing more or less nothing and don't know where to start or
2. Videos showing me how to turn my DVD player into a kickass cat toy, or an existing laser pointer into a Fallout superweapon that will either blind me, kill everyone in my house, or land me in Guantanamo.

Obligatory "no, I'm not a twelve year old" on this post, as I see on many others with similar questions lol

I want to build a simple thing to start, so I can understand the components, some of the lingo, basic safety principles, etc., then I'll move onto wood engravings, and we can revisit the alien superweapons in another lifetime maybe. ;)

Sowee7

Well the main thing you need to assemble a simple diode laser is just a laser diode (your choice of wavelength and output power), collimating lens+housing and a laser diode driver, you may or may not need a heatsink depending on the diode you use. If you want to assemble a simple DPSS laser, you will need a 808nm diode laser (200+ mw) and an MCA for 532nm you can optionally add an expanding+collimating lens set to lower the divergance

Mnemon94