Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser for frying pest anemones in a reef aquarium

I doubt it. I think that most of us are all laser newbs!

CJ

Agreed, I’m a noob. I started researching the difference and it looks like they cost about the same to build or buy as kits. Is there any advantage in a lower power consumption laser with the same net effect?

It looks like the 405 could produce a .1-.2mm focal point and the 445 a .5-.6mm? With those numbers and some internet info I found the mW / mm^2 of the 1.4w 445 with a .5mm and a 500mw 405 with a .2mm focal point to be almost equal. Is this correct?

If so a 1.4w 445 produces the same output over a .5mm point that a 500mw 405 does over .2mm.

Arayan

Clownfish.jpg

Problem solved.

Amazing :p

tonyt

I know this may be considered necro posting but i actually tried this tonight! With spectacular results! :yh:
Has anyone else on here got a saltwater tank?

I've used it with good results to remove algae that was growing in a some of my clear filter tubes. Way easier and more fun this way.

tonyt

You need to watch this with your sound on! Crazy..

Last edited:
Mmmmmm....If you think Aiptasia are pests....try dealing with Bristle Worms.....
Those #@^&$#!**& things are not only a pest....they are a moving target !!! And they are BAD for the SW Tank !!!...Since my small tank has only coral in it....no fish eyes to worry about....only my own !!!

I will try to zap a BWorm.....Perhaps with the Tridentis....That'll get'em !!

Guess what's gonna get a 445nm " TAN "

CDBEAM=======>

Last edited: