Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Heyo!

Hello, just though I would introduce myself. I'm new here, and in fact have never (!) participated in any internet forums, although I've been mining them for info for quite a while now.

Anyways, I'm in my fourth year at Gonzaga University, studying mechanical engineering and music. I tend to bounce around between projects (homemade metal forge, hybrid go-kart, carbon fibre canoe, etc etc).

Obviously, lasers are the latest and greatest on that list! I've got some sweet looking heat sinks kicking around, plus some basic electrical equipment, plus some old CD burners (although I hear those are generally IR diodes) so I'm gonna see if I can throw something together.

Seems to be a ton of awesome information floating around here!

IsaacT

Welcome!!! I look forward to seeing pics of what you build!!! Don't forget to pick yourself up a pair of safety glasses and read the stickies, but have fun :)

Peace,
Isaac

I'm curious as to what you mean by hybrid go cart :thinking: Sounds interesting! Welcome! I too look forward to what you can throw together!

Thanks for the welcomes -- I'm exploring the stickies as we speak!

The go cart was a gas/electric hybrid, we ran it on a lawnmower motor and some old electric motor. Built the frame out of plywood though so it didn't exactly last!!

-Keith

That's still pretty cool. It seems most of us have too many hobbies and not enough money! haha. There's some good information in those stickies!

WElCOME

- very nice upbeat intro- more need to follow your lead rather to jump in and start asking for help.