Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help me put together a laser test bench

MikeSD

I started out on my project, looking for an IR laser of more power than what I can buy for my rifles. Then, got sucked into the whole laser field. ;) I'm an electrical engineer but have worked very little with lasers. So, in that regards I'm a total newbie.

I'm also of retirement age, so it could turn into a good hobby. ;)

One thing I really try to avoid is depending too much on others for specs and such. I also don't like reinventing the wheel, and do depend on others for things that are commonly known. For test data, I would prefer to do that myself.

So, I set out to build a basic laser test bench. The first thing I have found is it's taking more time than I want to spend, coming up to speed on what I might want in a bench. That's where you come in.

If you had, say $1000-$2000 to spend, what would you buy for such a bench? I would like to have ability to:

1) Test drivers and driver designs
2) Test raw laser diodes
3) Measure power output
4) Do some optical testing
5) Measure beam diameters and focal lengths
6) Measure diode wavelengths (if can be done reasonably cheap)
7) Are there any desktop optical benches that are cheap?

If this can be done for less than $1000 great. If not, then what is the driving cost I might eliminate. I'm not looking for a university optical lab, but I'm also not looking for a completely DIY, with pics and arduino. I'd prefer not to do too much building (i.e. designing boards and programming). I'm interested in the use of laser part and not so much at building test equipment. I'd prefer to just buy something and hook it up. ;) Something that's meant for direct readout of whatever I'm measuring.