Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello - New Member From Portland, OR

phosphoressential

Hellooooooo all you pointers of lasers!

phosphoressential here, hailing from the crisp morning dew of the Pacific Northwest.

I'm an opto-mechanical engineer for a company in the semiconductor industry. My small satellite office specializes in optics and lasers. In the back lab we have a van sized tool that uses four 2 joule lasers to melt very thin layers of silicon. Peak tool optical power ~1.2GW, yes thats billion with a b. Here's a photo i took of one of the four lasers focused down to ionize the air as a party trick. You can see the plasma ball in the center of the shot.

IMG_3450.jpg

I'm lucky to work with some really cool tools but to be honest my background in optics is pretty limited. Always learning!

At home I have some laser projectors (many consumer, and one dual axis RGB), some dime-store pointers, and I'm working on a rainbow of serious pointers. Waiting on some new dimmable Sanwu sabers from black friday :p once the last two come, the spread will be:

405nm - 1.6W Sanwu dimmable
450nm - 5W Thor+ series unbranded
470nm - 5W Sanwu dimmable
492nm - 100mw Sanwu pocket series
520nm - 1.2W Sanwu dimmable
638nm - 1.5W Sanwu dimmable G84

Really looking forward to the Dragon Lasers 589 nm.

I have a 3D printer and am interested in creating 3D art with gears, electronics, light, lasers, and optical illusions. I love to design in CAD space.

Stay safe. Have fun. Let's all have a good discussion out there on the field. This post was made possible by the relentless sarcasm of a one hakzaw1 ;) Cheers mate!

BowtieGuy

LPF Site Supporter
Welcome to LPF, phosphoressential! :)

That's a very good welcome post, much appreciated.