Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from Singapore :)

Airgel

Hi all!

Finally made an account after toying with the idea of DIY-ing lasers for a while. I don't care much for burning things, more interested in the build process and the physics behind lasers, light and different lasing media etc. Also aiming to have a nice spectrum of lasers from violet to red. A little bit about me, I'm a student starting on my engineering degree, interested in photography, astronomy, and just STEM in general.

I have one big obstacle in my path though: cash (or lack thereof 😛) Classic broke student situation LOL. Anyone has tips for lasing on a budget? Getting hosts, heatsinks, and stuff from places like SL would blow my wallet to bits, not even counting shipping halfway around the world! I know quality safety goggles are a must, but would really like to save on them too. I've seen someone recommend goggles from Taobao, can anyone vouch for them? Would really really appreciate you guys' help with this 🙏🙏🙏

Anyway, I'm going to start off using broken torchlights I have lying around as hosts (Can't afford to buy new ones), and I'm ordering a few low power 405nm SLD3134VL diodes off aliexpress to gain some experience with the whole process.

Cheers 🤙

Welcome to the LPF. Cannot give advice on products on Taobao without seeing it. Need a link, at least. I did my engineering college days 45 years ago, but worked as a TV shop tech back then and made very good money for the times. I only had to borrow each semester and paid each loan off before the end of the semester. Made having a degree without any debts very doable. Good luck to you.

Snecho

Welcome to the forum! I love your field and also have the same background as do most members here I'm sure :p