Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from New York City

Hi I'm 20, my name is Jesse I'm a full time college student going for Liberal Arts as of right now. I plan to join the New York Police Department within the next year or two. After reading about 5 hours of stickies I would like to introduce myself since I've always been fascinated by lasers and would like to make it a hobby. My experience with them are minimal, the only lasers I have were cheap key ring ones and pressure switch lasers I have on my airsoft rifle. I think I understand things like how different nm frequency's determine the color and how mW determine the strength. Not too sure how strong the mW need to be to start doing things like being visible during day/night (I know this is also determined by the nm because humans can't see some colors as well as they can see others).

To start with I bought this laser

Adjustable Focus Burning Burn Green Laser Pointer Pen Safety Key Charger Battery | eBay

It doesn't specify the mW but I'm assuming it somewhere between 50-120.
I also purchased

HDE® Laser Eye Protection Safety Glasses W/ Free Hard Case - Amazon.com

The laser I ordered was 532nm and those filter it, it says so I hope I'm doing this correctly.