Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

First Custom Build (300mw 650nm)

So this is my first build, I've got a 300mw 650nm diode module on the way from DTR :beer: I've got a host I'm hoping to get ready for it's arrival, I got it for $2.95 (radioshack) as a LED/ <5mw laser that was on sale and gutted it.
LzrHost_zpsaf8cca63.jpg

I want to run 2 10440's with a dummy wire in the third slot for power and keep the original button switch. Also while trying to fit a home made LM317 driver on round PCB that has a 1'' diameter. Probably after shaving it a few mm's though..

Any advice? Should I use 2 16340's and discard the 3xaaa holder?

Last edited:

Any build created by hand will always be more rewarding than that purchased.

Can't help you with your dummy wire, but wish you good luck on your First!:beer:

Continue your reading through the forums and personal builds.

Any build created by hand will always be more rewarding than that purchased.

Can't help you with your dummy wire, but wish you good luck on your First!:beer:

Continue your reading through the forums and personal builds.

Thanks Envy, I definitely agree. Much nicer on the wallet too!

How do you plan on heatsinking your diode?

I was hoping I'd be good with DTR's module as-is. If not I was either buying this from ebay or planning on taking these 2'' aluminum discs i came across in my garage and taking a drill press to them.

Last edited:
Thanks Envy, I definitely agree. Much nicer on the wallet too!

I was hoping I'd be good with DTR's module as-is. If not I was either buying this from ebay or planning on taking these 2'' aluminum discs i came across in my garage and taking a drill press to them.
Your definately going to need a heatsink.

Your definately going to need a heatsink.