Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Best laser for arborists

Evo

I’m tired of buying what seems to be disposable lasers for pointing at trees.
I work as an Arborist and we tend to use basic pen green laser pointers with mixed results. Out here in the PNW we frequently will be trying to point a fine focused green dot on a green evergreen canopy about 150’ up and ~ 100’ away. With a fully charged set of batteries and an overcast day it works just OK. Even better with a super light fog as the dot widens and is more visible. Often I’ll have my customers behind me trying their best to find the bouncing green spec on the foliage.

I know next to nothing other than the super basics that green is supposed to be the brightest in daylight, and the max legally allowed in the states is 5nm (but I don’t even really know that that means). Obviously I would never be pointing at a person, plane, or animal. I know a consulting arborist who had a badass laser, which likely isn’t legal. It’s about the size of a moderate handled c cell flashlight, and shoots a pink dot that is about 3-6” in diameter and is impossible to miss when pointing at a tree. It must be durable as I know he’s had it for well over a decade and it’s battle scared.

Can anyone point me to a good quality, long lasting laser that hopefully is in the $200 price tag range? Are there any there with an adjustable beam diameter? A solid on off switch and disposable batteries are a plus.

If you are using the laser as a tool around workers you need to understand that any laser over 5mw ( that's the output power in 1000th of a watt , milliwatts ) can damage someones eyes if the beam enters the eye.