Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

are there any Plexiglass sheets for laser safety?

hey everyone.

just wondering if anyone knows of any affordable plexi glass or plastic sheets of any kind that can block 405nm blu ray style diodes (and affordable)

I'd like to build a small engraving CNC but want to ensure the laser light is contained. I'd just like a small viewing window in the front that can block the laser light.

even though it'll be pointing down.. accidents can happen.

thanks!

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Now I'm no expert on Plexiglas or acrylic sheeting so someone will have to help you there. However I don't see why you can't wear a pair of safety glasses while the machine is running? You could even go as far as completely enclosing it and cutting up a pair of glasses and mounting the cut glasses to the machine.

thanks. I'm hoping for something a tad nicer looking though. I've got safety glasses, but I can't really make the lady wear safety glasses all day or make the dog wear them so it'd be great to just put a front panel on the machine, and a lock and let it do it's thing.. I guess when I say affordable I should say I'm hoping to find a sheet in the $30-40 range. 10x10 inches or even larger if possible.

Then you need a window specially designed for laser, and specific to your wavelength and power, one example in this link, but is not so cheaper.

That's a great start Piferal! expensive as you said.

if I could find something similar at half the price I'd be set..
I'm hoping to make a couple of these for friends so I'd like to keep the price low. (looking to make 3 cases)