Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

488nm 100mw Sanwu Guardian with 3x Beam Expander

dreaming

This is a review for a 488nm 100mw Sanwu Guardian laser pointer with a 3x beam expander.

This is the first high-end pointer I've owned and I have to say that I am exceedingly impressed with it. Back in the 1990s I was a laser technician in the military, and we didn't have anything as cool as this. Our neatest lasers were super powerful neodymium yag, used, if I remember correctly, in the rangefinder of the M1A1 Abrams tank. As technicians we weren't allowed to play around with the tanks very much, but they were a lot of fun. The infrared night-vision in them is sensitive enough to see hot water pipes through a steel or concrete wall!

This Sanwu Guardian seems to be extremely well-made. It tests at ~100mw on my cheap but usually-accuratish LPM, which is great! Most 488nm pointers' outputs are around 60mw. Higher-output 488nn lab lasers are available but usually cost thousands. Podo explained to me that to push this diode higher, in this host, would push the wavelength into shades of green.

445nm blue laser beams are generally harder to see with the naked eye and thus need to be more powerful in order to be clearly visible. I wanted something bright and easy to see that didn't need to be super high-powered and this pointer fits that bill perfectly.

The beam expander is really, really cool. I haven't played with optics much in the 20 or so years since I've gotten out of the military, and this beam expander brings back a lot of memories. It seems to be a quality piece of gear, and I find myself like a kid with a new toy, looking at the beam with and then without the expander attached, over and over.