Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Using lasers near airports

ZEOXEO

So, to start off I'm relatively new to laser pointers, i've only been collecting them since about december but already have a decent color selection (405, 445, 473, and 532) but I live near an airport and the planes coming in to land go nearly directly over my house at only 800-1000 feet elevation. Should I just plain not use lasers outside during the night, should I just scan the sky before using my lasers, or can I be pretty free with how I use my lasers until an aircraft is actually heading towards my house?

From what I understand it's not illegal if it's not intentional and they would have to prove that I shone it at an aircraft on purpose.

My second question, my dad seems to be paranoid about lasers and thinks I shouldn't ever shine them in the sky for any reason because it could hit a plane I don't see. And he thinks any plane that sees a beam will radio the tower to have police dispatched. Are his concerns reasonable or is he just plain paranoid?

I look forward to your thoughts and input on this topic though I will not be back online for 2 days due to a camping trip.

Last edited:

It's always a good idea to scan the sky multiple times before you turn your laser on. I know sometimes I will shine mine and then realize that there is a plane that I am almost hitting. I would say that as long as you super duper extra careful then you should be ok.

As far as not getting in trouble just because it was unintentional... That's just not the case. Even if it truly was you will still be in big trouble and will at least receive a huge fine.