Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Upgrading from lurker

Miharu

Hello all, after lurking and browsing threads here on-and-off for a couple of years as a non-member, I decided to take the plunge and actually make an account. I'm a 31-year-old graduate student in physics, and my area of research is astrophysics. I am mainly interested in lasers for astronomy purposes. At the moment, I have one 30mw and one 50mw laser, both of which are 532nm - kind of a boring color, but good for seeing at night.

Have been looking at getting a 488nm laser since I love the color, but all I've seen available so far are ones with toggle switch at the bottom, whereas I'd prefer a momentary side switch, so haven't acquired one yet. (If I'm being completely honest, my main purpose in joining was really to see if any members here might have the solution to that dilemma.)

Anyway, since I've finally joined, I figured the next step was to post here and say hi to everybody!

CurtisOliver

LPF Site Supporter
Welcome to the forum Miharu. :)
There are members on here that can build lasers for you.
That way you get what you want and can get hold of something unique.
Enjoy your stay! (y)

Ears and Eggs

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter
Welcome to the forums! Really cool that you are studying astrophysics, an area I am very interested in and considering studying. Unfortunately I haven't seen any 488 lasers with a momentary side button yet apart from custom builds. The one I have is the rear switch pocket from Sanwu. Best bet would be a custom build from a member here or buy the parts and assemble yourself.

BowtieGuy

LPF Site Supporter
Welcome to LPF, Miharu!

Have fun, be safe, and enjoy your stay here.