Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

trying to learn more about battery choices

I'm having difficulty finding more information about the different size, mAh, and V battery advantages and disadvantages relating to lasers. I'm not very educated in electronics.
Is the main differences simply about power output?
For example what is the reasoning some laser use a single 18650 vs. 2 18350 or 16340 batteries?
When you use 2 3.7V batteries does the combined voltage double?
Do higher mAh produce a brighter beam or is it only a longer use time?
When building a laser what are some reasons you would chose which power cell? How do you know which would be the best power cell for the build?

I am just learning some of the particulars about these batteries myself, but here is what I've found:

1 each 18650 3.7 volt (some are 3.6). Peak voltage at 4.2 volts after freshly charged.
1 each 18350 3.7 volts. Peak voltage at 4.2 volts after freshly charged.

Every time you stack batteries, you get double the voltage, put them in parallel the voltage is the same but the current capacity is double.

Stack two 18650's for double the voltage, or up to 8.4 volts.
Stack two 18350's for double the voltage, or up to 8.4 volts.

One 18650 is roughly the same length as two 18350's (depending if flat top or not). The advantage of stacking two 18350's is you get twice the voltage in the same amount of space or length of a single 18650. For example, one of my hosts requires two 18350 batteries so there is enough voltage to run my 900+ mw output 405nm DTR laser module, if I put a single 18650 in the holder which fits fine, there isn't enough voltage at 4.2 volts to run it, it won't light up at all.