Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

The 'Not Used' Pin. What's it for?

buzz

Can someone please explain what the 'Not Used' pin is for? It is obviously there for a reason and I see it connects directly to one side of the laser thingy (you can tell I'm a pro!).
Thanks in advance...

its a nuetral, most times the diode is bonded to a heatsink so its most of the time not used.

well it i think depends on the diode some are case - and the can share the case neutral path but in a case positive diode it would be different

Last edited:

daguin

Sometimes it is for an internal photodiode that is used to monitor the output of the laser. Sometimes it is used to provide an electrical path in a particular application. Sometimes it is simply an unused pin that is still included because it is cheaper to include it than it is to re-tool the manufacturing plant ;)

Peace,
dave

Last edited:
Sometimes it is for an internal photodiode that is used to monitor the output of the laser. Sometimes it is used to provide an electrical path in a particular application. Sometimes it is simply an unused pin that is still included because it is cheaper to include it than it is to re-tool the manufacturing plant ;)

Peace,
dave

thanks ,I should have waited for a pro to explain it. :p

buzz

Thanks guys. One other thing.. I'm using a driver from a green 100mw laser that I blew up and it is working and burns stuff (just) but the beam is not visible hardly. I'm having trouble focusing it but I'm getting there. Is there a lens I can harvest to help? I have other broken pointers parts and DVDRW drives. The laser I'm using is from a 2008 DVDRW that was standard issue in a Packard Bellend P.C.
Oh, it's an open can type if that info helps any?

Last edited: