Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Space and Other Non-laser Distractions...

Thanks for all the kudos, folks. If this sort of thing interests you, there are a ton of online resources to help you get started. Photography has been a hobby of mine for some time, but I'm still very new to the genre of astro-imaging.

I don't have high-res versions of these hosted at the moment other than a rework of M45 I sent to a friend for constructive feedback on some noise reduction I tried. Feel free to download it here while it's up if you are interested.

Easily our best photographer on this forum
I'm pretty sure Bruce owns the market on laser photography... :)

Can you show us what your camera looks like?
It is a Canon DSLR... nothing special.

do you have some sort of tracking tripod that keeps your camera aimed at the object your photographing?
Yes, the type of mount used in most deep space astrophotography is called an equatorial mount (sometimes GEM is used as an abbreviation - stands for German Equatorial Mount). These mounts move on the axis of right ascension and declination instead of your more familiar up-down-right-left movement of an alt-azimuth mount used for visual astronomy.

makes me want to post some of mine to
Do it! Do it! :) I'd love to see your images.

Cheers!
/c

edit: apparently you have to click the "download" link in dropbox to get the bigger version

Last edited:

Wow, I thought those were just some pictures you grabbed from Google or something! They're really good quality, especially from a terrestrial setup and not from a big telescope.