Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Recommendations for a laser for light sculpture

Hi everyone, first post!

I'm an art student interested in making some light sculptures using lasers and mirrors, and I'm having trouble finding what kind of laser it is I need- I want a laser which can be left on for long periods of time, ideally all day in a gallery space, so I guess it would need to be mains-powered? (if it's just an ~8hr battery that's also fine) I would prefer to buy a pre-made one but I'm not averse to putting one together if the process is well documented, my electronics skills are limited though. I would like it to be blue or green (blue is preferred if I can afford it) I also don't want to get something which is too powerful for my needs and a safety risk, but equally has enough power. So what kind of power would I need to make something with a beam reflected say 20 or 30 times (on front surface mirrors), in a 3m x 3m darkened space? Could I achieve that with a laser that is safe to walk through the beams? Alternatively I could buy several cheaper lasers which are less powerful and safer. The main stipulation here is leaving them on without overheating.

If you have any recommendations I would be grateful. My budget is £75/~$115 but I don't really know if that's possible. I'm UK based.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:

DrSid

Laser with visible beams is practically always not safe to eyes. You can increase visibility drastically by filling the room with smoke, even the safe disco smoke works fine. You can also improve visibility of the beam by using green color, which is most visible at given power (thus safety precautions), and by darkening the room. Total darkness works best.