Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

PHR-803T new build..not lasing

I am reconstructing my old Blu-Ray laser with new parts and I am running into the issue of the diode going LED from the get-go. I have a new Microboost driver, new PHR-803 diode, and a new 14500 battery fully charged. The Microboost I got from Flaminpyro was set to 120mA and the diode from Modwerx. I used a static strap when handling and assembling the laser and soldered at the lowest setting. I am not a novice at soldering so I know that I didn't 'cook' the driver or diode when assembling.

After assembling and placing the diode/module/heatsink into the host, I added the battery and clicked the switch. Nothing but dim LED light. Several years ago I had built the same laser and it worked great for years until THAT diode went LED a couple months ago. I went ahead and got a new diode, driver, and battery just to cover my bases...now this new build is suffering the same problem. It is frustrating. From what I remembered on the last build, I soldered diode + to D+ per the Microboost manual, and diode -/ center pin to the (D-). I put a contact spring on the (+) on the power end of the driver and (-) is via the case.

I thought maybe something was wrong with the tailcap switch, so I pulled the whole module out, soldered leads to the power in, and tried powering directly off the battery....still LED.

Did I just get a crap diode? The driver looks fine, no solder bleeding to where it shouldn't. Any tests I should run?

Last edited:

Fiddy

Did you use a test load to verify your current? maybe the pot was bumped and went up in current?

Also did you short the output leads of the microboost before connecting them to the diode?