Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

NIR info and help please

I am doing a build with  2 LD's from pioneer 115D's  driven by rckstr 100ma drivers, through my night vision sight I can see the dot from both of them clearly at 20 feet or so. The dot, to the naked eye is about the intensity of a 1mw red.

I tried close focusing to see if I could burn anything.....zilch.....
From my description are these lasing properly?
Are they being given enough ma?
Should they be capable of burning?

I have never worked with NIR before so I am unsure of what should and should not be possible.
I tried a search for pioneer 115D but no threads were found. Before anyone says it I am aware of the dangers of looking at IR....I am working safe honest :)

Regards rog8811

LOL....I did wonder, any idea what I should be looking at?
Do you have a link for the info you found?

I have an LM317 test rig that will be able to put a lot more into them, but what is the limit.

Regards rog8811

I am not sure where I found the info but it is 125-150 I think

If you burn therm out I don't really mind as it would be useful to know an ideal current

Is there no one out there in IR land who can give me some input here, a definative
"I have used these LD's and I have found that ***ma iperfect"
Would suffice...... ;)

Regards rog8811

phenol

rog, i have experience with LG 20x (48x for CD) windowless NIR LDs. One died at 150mA while lasing. Another one has been doing fine at 140mA for quite some time. 3 more are idling in a box... It is properly heatsinked and I leave it on indefinitely without ill effects so far. 100mW output shouldnt be a problem.
100mA is really underdriving them.

Zom-B