Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Newbie!

Taylor21990

Hello, my name is Taylor, and I am new to lasers and electronics in general. I watched a couple of styros YouTube videos an instantly was hooked. I had an old dell computer that was just collecting dust and thought I'd try my hand at extracting the laser diode and piecing together a driver. It was so so much fun, but very time-consuming! My GF thought I was crazy but I had so much fun doing it! In the end, I got a small dim light, and after a lot of research on wiring I found out I killed the diode. :( anyway I'm hooked and hope I can gain some knowledge on building. I've been extracting parts from old electronics and saving them in case I come across needing certain parts. I've bought half a dozen lasers on Ebay and have been dissecting them to figure out how they tick. And it's so interesting! I love all the support here and hope to get to know you laserers. Thanks for reading!

GSS

Welcome :) Taylor..
Yes get some glasses please. ;)
Yes you never know when you might need some salvaged parts even if some are out dated.. I got like 10 junk draws worth :whistle:

Taylor21990

Thanks guys! I have a red pair that came with one of the lasers I bought. 1.5w 445nm. They don't block all the blue light, but I'm very grateful for my eyeballs so ill take all the necessary precautions. Waiting for a couple more 1.5 watters in the mail so I can take one apart. Don't wanna tear into the only expensive laser I have right now. Wondering if you can stick any diode on the drivers they have in them?