Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Newbie question regarding o-like laser

opr

Hi all.

I am a newbie and first I want to thank this forum for all the interesting posts I read here.

After reading all kind of recommendation, I ordered a 200mw Green laser from O-Like. The main purpose of this laser is as an astronomy pointer.
The main issue I face is that after 2 minutes (more or less) of constant usage, the power decrease significantly. It is very disappointing. This contradicts this I read in this forum which says that a Green laser supposed to increase as it warms.

I checked, and it is not a battery issue.

I contacted O-Like, and Susie wrote they will replace it.
But before I do all the long process of sending it and wait for a new one, I would like to ask if any other people faced the same problem. I’ll hate to get a new one, and see that it is a general problem.

What the expert’s opinion?

What do you mean when you say you use it for astronomy?

Do you use it to point out objects? Mounted to a telescope as a guide?

As a pointer, 200mW is pretty bright. I like 30-50mW for a pointer.
As a guide on a telescope I used to use a 200mW green. It was great, but green is not the most stable. I am planning on making a new guide with a 125mW 450nm or 635nm. Or a green diode if they ever are released.

450nm and 635nm will not be as bright but they are diode lasers which are much more stable in a wider range of temperatures and are easy and inexpensive to DIY.
Also, 635nm is a red wavelength and so it does not have as much of an effect on night vision. However, if you want to use a diode laser for a telescope guide, make sure it is a single mode diode. Multimode diodes have rectangular beams and high divergence which is not ideal for long distance pointing.