Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Newbie - Green Line Generator - Please help.

I'm a newb here but in need of some help. I did a search but did not turn up anything of interest.

I am looking for a laser that will generate a straight line for a maximum of 100'. I am a golaie coach and teh light will be projected on white ice, indoors, with flourescent lighting. I would like to be able to mount the laser on a tripod if possible.

My research has indicated that a green light will show up much better than red, which is why I have posted in the green laser section. My budget is in the $100 - $150 range with simplicity of operation a key feature.

If anyone can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it. Myexperience with 'lasers' so far includes a red handhelp pointer to tease my cat and a Canadian Tire red line genrator that was too faint when used inside an arena....

Thanks.

Dave

I suggest you get a 100mW DealExtreme (green) laser, and a line generating optic and holder from Nova.

OK heres the links.
DealExtreme True 100mW - will be fairly close to 100mW output if not more. $99

DealExtreme 200mW - not 'true' so probably closer to 150mW output. $122

For $23 more for another 50% of power, I think the choice is obvious in the 200.
Both of these lasers though, are completely enough to blind you, and you need to be very careful when using them around potentially reflective objects like ice or sportswear that has metal on it. However, if used safely, it could be a great tool.

Nova line gen optic $6
I suggest to attach this to a DealExtreme laser you simply use a few tiny dots of blutack or similar to align it (round the edges) then if you want it permanent, small dots of glue. There are proper optics holders, but I doubt they fit DX lasers.