Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Neutral density filter not for high power, but what's the limit?

I'm under the impression a neutral density filter could cut beam power down significantly, and at a 1.5 density effectively turn a 100mw laser into a 3 mw laser. But is that ok to do? The glass absorbs the light, but I can't imagine it having an issue with up to 200mw.

Also, am I right on the effect of the filter? 1.5od has a ~3% transmittance. Captain Obvious would say it's 100mw x .03....but who know? i'm still a noob. Would somebody please confirm?

Hard to swallow that you did a search for Neutral Density Filter...
I just tried it and the 1st hit is this one...:whistle:

http://laserpointerforums.com/f70/extend-lpm-range-filter-74207.html#post1071810

Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics

Jerry, that's the second time you've linked me that link. It's not working. why don't you try answering my question instead of trolling me. thanks.

You link doesn't provide me with a confirmation that a nd filter with a 1.5 density would effectively bring down the power of a 100mw laser to ~ 3 mw.

I'm not sure you read my question. I find that hard to swallow.

furthermore by not being friendly, you are giving J.bauer electronics a bad name. I will now never order a laserbee product, and I was saving up for one. so i'll spend it somewhere else now.

I can't apologize enough apparently for not being a electrical engineer with complex knowledge of lasers. Sorry I wanted to take up a new hobby.

should I get down on my knees? What do you want laserbee/Jerry.

I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO ASK 1 QUESTION WITHOUT SOMEBODY TROLLING ME. please stop. i'm doing my best. sorry it's not up to your standards

Last edited: